Armstrong State Holds 2016-17 Student-Athlete Awards Banquet

Armstrong State Holds 2016-17 Student-Athlete Awards Banquet

SAVANNAH, Ga. - The Armstrong State University athletic department held the final Student-Athlete Awards Banquet in program history on Thursday evening at the Armstrong Center. 

Individual team and academic awards were awarded as well as a highlight video shown of the 12 sports from the 2016-17 athletic year at Armstrong. For a ninth straight year, WJCL-TV Sports Director Frank Sulkowski served as emcee of the festivities.

Each year, seniors are awarded their Pirate A letter, but this year every Armstrong State student-athlete received a framed Pirate A to commemorate the final season of intercollegiate competition at ASU.

Hghlights of the evening included the awarding of the 2016-17 Male and Female Student-Athlete of the Year by the Armstrong State Athletic Department. Junior men's cross country runner Henning Schein earned Male Student-Athlete of the Year honors, while senior softball player Jane Trzaska and junior women's tennis player Lena Lutzeier were named the Co-Female Student-Athletes of the Year. The awards were presented by by University President Dr. Linda Bleicken.

Three special awards were also handed out. The first was the Video Play of the Year. Out of eight nominees, which you can view here, a panel of Armstrong faculty and staff picked freshman Kalen Clifton's buzzer-beating three-pointer to beat Peach Belt co-champion UNC Pembroke, 87-84, on January 28th

Armstrong also honored freshman Corey Tillery's 36-point outburst, which included 10-of-13 thre-pointers, in men's basketball's 86-79 win over PBC co-champion Augusta State on January 25th. Male and Female Freshman of the Year awards went to men's basketball player Corey Tillery and softball player Tazha Williams.

The Dr. Donald Anderson Scholar-Athlete Awards were handed out for a fifth straight year, given to the top male and female academic student-athlete. Named for longtime Armstrong supporter and student services consultant Dr. Donald Anderson, this year's winners were senior men's golfer Joshua Glossop and senior softball player Tori Bates.

After the awards portion of the program was concluded, the officers of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee presented signed jerseys to Dr. Bleicken and Athletic Director Lisa Sweany, commemorative Pirate As to Carl Bleicken, Faculty Athletic Representative Dr. Will Lynch and WJCL-TV 22's Frank Sulkowski for their support over the years of Pirate Athletics. Finally, the SAAC officers recognized Armstrong Athletic Department senior staff members Sweany, Assistant AD for Compliance Jennifer Rushton, Assistant AD for Marketing & Promotions Harold Watson as well as Director of Sports Communications Chad Jackson with their own custom posters celebrating their years of service at Armstrong State.

Listed below are the list of all the award winners honored at Monday night's banquet.

2016-17 Armstrong Male Student-Athlete of the Year
Henning Schein, Men's Cross Country
2016-17 Armstrong Co-Female Student-Athlete of the Year
Lena Lutzeier, Women's Tennis & Jane Trzaska, Softball

2016-17 Dr. Donald Anderson Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Joshua Glossop, Men's Golf
2016-17 Dr. Donald Anderson Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Tori Bates, Softball

2016-17 Male Freshman of the Year
Corey Tillery, Men's Basketball
2016-17 Female Freshman of the Year
Tazha Willilams, Softball

Video Play of the Year
Kalen Clifton, Men's Basketball

Individual Performance of the Year
Corey Tillery, Men's Basketball

2016 Best Team GPA - Men's Sport
Cross Country
2016 Best Team GPA - Women's Sport

2016-17 Individual Team Awards 

Men's Cross Country Coaches Award - Mac Gibbs
Men's Cross Country Runner of the Year - Henning Schein
Women's Cross Country Coaches Award - Kaylee Bromell
Women's Cross Country Runner of the Year - Amanda Fernandez
Women's Soccer Coaches Award - Michelle Allen
Women's Soccer Most Improved - Taylor Snell
Women's Soccer MVP - Sarah Olin
Volleyball Pirate Award - Kim Brody
Volleyball Pirate Spirit Award - Brittany Hereth
Volleyball MVP - Carley Eiken
Men's Basketball Pirate Award - Denzel Council
Men's Basketball Defensive Player of the Year - Francisco Williams
Men's Basketball Leadership Award - George Brown
Women's Basketball Most Improved Award -  Imari Montalvo
Women's Basketball MVP - Machala Raymonville
Women's Basketball Coaches Award - Jessica Doyle
Softball Leadership Award - Macy Coleman
Softball Pirate Award - Lindsay Stewart
Softball MVP - Jane Trzaska
Men's Golf Coaches Award - Spencer Ball
Men's Golf Most Improved - Gustav Beckvid
Women's Golf Coaches Award - Sophie Bargeron
Women's Golf Most Improved - Nikita Arjun
Women's Tennis MVP - Lena Lutzeier
Women's Tennis Most Improved - Alice Patch
Men's Tennis MVP - Ignacio Hernandez
Men's Tennis Newcomer of the Year - Alvaro Cruz Chomorro
Baseball Offensive Player of the Year - Mike Warren
Baseball Freshman of the Year - Will Hodges
Baseball Hustle Award - Ryan Patterson 

GPA Awards - 3.0 to 3.24 in 2016
Michell Allen, Soccer
Nick Andress, Baseball
Bethany Ballard, Softball
Gustav Beckvid, Men's Golf
Aaron Bentley, Baseball
Bailey Buie, Women's Golf
Deundria Clark, Women's Basketball
Chandler Corley, Baseball
Spencer Harvey, Baseball
Sarah Olin, Women's Soccer
Autumn Parrish, Softball
Emily Swafford, Softball
Jacob Tinsley, Men's Golf 

3.25 to 3.49 in 2016
McKenzie Anderson, Soccer
Nikita Arjun, Women's Golf
George Brown, Men's Basketball
Andrew Burgess, Men's Golf
Luca Cerin, Men's Tennis
Macy Coleman, Softball
Jessica Doyle, Women's Basketball
Morgan Duff, Softball
Lena Lutzeier, Women's Tennis
Ryan Patterson, Baseball
Sierra Peebles, Softball
Machala Raymonville, Women's Basketball
Hannah Reppert, Softball
Taylor Snell, Soccer
Brooke Standard, Soccer
Diana Stomlega, Women's Tennis
Martha Trimbach, Soccer
Kristi Vaughn, Volleyball 

3.50-3.74 GPA in 2016
Jenny Allen, Soccer
Nathalia Baigorria, Women's Golf
Sophie Bargeron, Women's Golf
Kim Brody, Volleyball
Jaycee Bunner, Women's Golf
Annie Chandler, Volleyball
Olivia DeJong, Soccer
Isabel Fabacher, Volleyball
Joshua Glossop, Men's Golf
Kennedi Herrmann, Soccer
Molly Molyneaux, Women's Golf
Sid Royal, Baseball
Iva Scepanovic, Volleyball
Parker Schroedel, Soccer
Madison Sox, Volleyball

3.75-3.99 GPA in 2016
Erin Berube, Soccer
Carley Eiken, Volleyball
Savanna Gladue, Softball
Kailey Goins, Soccer
Amanda Green, Soccer
Ashley Green, Soccer
Tyler Key, Men's Golf
Allison Litchfield, Soccer
Randi Schroedel, Soccer
Asa Thorsen, Soccer
Jane Trzaska, Softball 

4.0 GPA in 2016
Brigitta Barta, Women's Basketball
Tori Bates, Softball
Zack Goble, Baseball
Erica Laurens, Soccer
Henning Schein, Men's Cross Country
Lindsay Stewart, Softball 

Highest GPA By Team in 2016
Men's Cross Country
- Henning Schein
Women's Cross Country
- Bethany Panhorst
 - Erica Laurens
Volleyball - Carley Eiken
Men's Basketball - George Brown
Women's Basketball - Brigitta Barta
Baseball - Zack Goble
Softball - Tori Bates & Lindsay Stewart
Men's Golf - Tyler Key
Women's Golf - Sophie Bargeron
Men's Tennis - Luca Cerin
Women's Tennis - Diana Stomlega 

2016-17 Senor Recognition
Women's Soccer - Erin Berube, Kailey Goins, Kennedi Herrmann, Erica Laurens, Allison Litchfield, Sarah Olin
Volleyball - Kim Brody, Brittany Hereth, Rachel Thompson
Women's Cross Country - Jessica Smith
Men's Basketball - George Brown, Denzel Collins, Loren Hall, Jamison Jeffers
Women's Basketball - Brigitta Barta, Deundria Clark, Jessica Doyle, Brooklyn Heilman
Baseball - Nick Andress, Aaron Bentley, Avery Fagan, Spencer Harvey, Tray Roberts, Ryan Patterson, Blake Turner, Nathan Ward, Caleb Woods
Softball - Bethany Ballard, Tori Bates, Savanna Gladue, Hannah Reppert, Jane Trzaska
Men's Golf - Joshua Glossop, Jake O'Bryan
Women's Golf - Molly Molyneaux
Men's Tennis - Luca Cerin, Ignacio Hernandez
Women's Tennis - Diana Stomlega