Women's Golf Earns NCAA Championships Bid

Women's Golf Earns NCAA Championships Bid

SAVANNAH, Ga. - The Armstrong State University women's golf team has earned a berth into the 2017 NCAA Division II Championships, announced today by the NCAA.

The Pirates earn a berth for the fourth time in the last five seasons and will be one of 12 teams competing at the South Super Regional in Elgin, S.C., at The Members Club at Woodcreek. Newberry College is serving as the host for the Super Regional.

Play begins on Monday, May 8th, and runs through Wednesday, May 10th. The top three teams and top three individuals not on advancing teams will move on to the 2017 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championships on May 17-20 at Findlay Country Club in Findlay, Ohio.

Other teams advancing to the South Regional include Barry, Saint Leo, Rollins, Nova Southeastern, Florida Tech, Lynn, West Florida, Lee, West Georgia and fellow Peach Belt Conference schools Flagler and Montevallo.

Armstrong State advanced to its first NCAA Regional in 2013, and also advanced in 2014 and 2016. Two Pirate players have been individual qualifiers to the NCAA Championships - Jenna Birch in 2012 and Kristen Sammarco in 2013.

Click here to view the complete 2017 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championship selections.