Armstrong Soccer 10th Anniversary Team: Courtney Cawley & Andye Dawson

Armstrong Soccer 10th Anniversary Team: Courtney Cawley & Andye Dawson

SAVANNAH, Ga. - Armstrong State University head soccer coach Eric Faulconer announces the next two selections to the Armstrong Soccer 10th Anniversary Team today - midfielders Courtney Cawley and Andye Dawson

A Savannah, Ga., native, Cawley joined the Pirates in 2010 after playing for one season at Utah State University. A hard-nosed holding midfielder who eventually became the team captain, Cawley earned All-Peach Belt Conference honors as a sophomore in 2010 and again as a senior in 2012. She was named the Peach Belt Conference Tournament MVP in 2012 as the Pirates successfully defended their title by giving up just one goal during the entire tournament.  

"Courtney was a warrior, plain and simple," Faulconer says. "She was the engine and heartbeat of our team. Her play didn't always show up in the box score and she didn't get some of the accolades of some of her teammates, but in my opinion she was the more important piece of the puzzle. She made it all work. I loved every minute of coaching Courtney. She gave me everything a coach could ask for out of a player. She flat out left it on the field every training session and every game."

Dawson recently completed her successful four-year career for the Pirates in 2013 by earning Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-America honors for a second time, just one of two players in Armstrong history to earn multiple Academic All-America honors from the organization. An NSCAA All-Region midfielder in 2011 and a two-time All-Peach Belt Conference selection, the Senoia, Ga., native ranks sixth all-time in shots and fifth in shots on goal for the Pirates.

"Andye's versatility was impressive," Faulconer says. "She could play center mid, center back, left back and forward. She came up very big in some very important games for us during her career. Though she played primarily in the midfield for most of her career, my best memory of Andye came in the 2011 PBC Final against Columbus State. It seemed like we lost every center back during the match to injury. We moved Andye to the center of our back line and she was so solid. That performance earned her All-Tournament honors. From a standpoint of both of academic and athletic performance, Andye was one the best."

The two players bring the total members of the 10th Anniversary Team to 12, joining Kristin Burton, Lyndsi Stricklen, Morgan Mitchell, Kristina Pascutti, Jamie Craine, Donna Cheyne, Kelli Bahr, Carey Patterson, Emily Cattanach and Nadima Skeff. Click here to view the 10th Anniversary Team page.

The final two selections will be announced on Tuesday, July 29th. The entire 10th Anniversary Team will be honored prior to Armstrong's home contest against Peach Belt foe Columbus State on Saturday, September 20th, at 1:00 p.m.